At the annual dinner held on Friday 14 October, chairman Stuart Ritchie presented the Club’s annual awards.  The winners were:

Best Batter – Marcus Campopiano

There were a number of batters in contention this year.  In alphabetical order; Marcus Campopiano, Adam Davies, Ben Davies, Hector Loughton and Peter Lamb.  With total runs scored of 364, the award went to Marcus Campopiano.

Best Bowler – Paul Walker

There were a number of bowlers in contention too.  In alphabetical order; Josh Burrows, Henry Cope, Mark Trubshaw and Paul Walker.  Surprisingly, Josh Burrows 7 for including a hatrick against Aldwick Academy at Arundel was not enough.  Instead, with 14 wickets, the award went to Paul Walker.

Best Junior – Harry Moorat

This young man was undoubtedly the find of the season for the Junior Martlets. He is a 15 year old member of the Brighton College 1st XI and in his first 3 games he scored 55, 53, and 100…the latter against the Brighton and Hove City Clubs. He was then part of the nearly match winning opening partnership in the Arundel game, when he and Dan Young put on 163 for the first wicket against the Club.  His 92 was marked out by his range of shots and unflappability at the crease. The maths will tell you he scored exactly 300 at an average of 75.  His loyal approach to the Martlets too was much appreciated. He is clearly a man to be cultivated and the Juniors manager is more than delighted at the prospect of having him playing for the Juniors against the Club at Arundel for the next 3 years!  The award went to Harry Moorat.

Best Overseas Player – Jacob Montgomery

The Martlets encourages the overseas players of Sussex Clubs to play midweek and on Sundays in our wandering cricket.  It gives us a fillip in our competitiveness and it keeps the overseas players engaged in the traditions of the game.  It has proved a mutually beneficial policy.  This year, there have been two contenders in Jacob Montgomery and Marno Pretorius.  With 380 runs and 5 wickets, the award goes to Jacob Montgomery.

Martlet of the Year – Chris Gray

This year the Club wished to recognise a gentleman who has given steadfast service to the Club, but in an unassuming way over many years.  In particular our gratitude is due for the revitalisation of the Club’s Annual Dinner.  With our grateful thanks, the award went to Chris Gray, or as he is sometimes known, CWG.